Skip to content
July 1, 2013 / vanessaparkinson

Life Drawing – Mike again

To measure or not to measure ? I’ve been attempting to follow the figure drawing exercises, I have, really. But somehow I start out with good intentions and never manage to follow through the measuring process. In part, the life models’ poses have apparently been challenging for the group I joined.

I’ve had several discussions with 2 different life drawing tutors and had a short demo from one and then tried out measuring in the class. I will be attending 3×5 hr life drawing workshops, the first one is the basics and I’m hoping to immerse myself in whatever is being suggested. I gather this will be based on lots of quick, simple poses.

Here are the latest based on Mike again and the second will be in the next post because I can’t seem to post 2 photos in one post using my IPad

image

I started with trying to use chalk to show form and then drew in more detail. I really struggled with showing the merest glimpse of his right shoulder. I found using negative space  between his crooked leg and by  his left  arm really helpful and am pleased with his right hand. I forgot his nipple.

Leave a comment

My Drawing Course

Smig van Basterd's Online Drawing Course

Professor Sarah Peverley

Medievalist, Book Historian, Broadcaster. Lost in the Fifteenth Century.

Violet's Vegan Comics

Funny, exciting and sometimes action-packed vegan-friendly children's comics, stories, picture books and nursery rhymes, FREE TO READ HERE and available in paperback from our bookshop.

Danny Gregory

Inspiration for creative folks like you.

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Painting Perceptions

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

WordPress.com News

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Words + Images

A Place of Creative Expression

Grumpy Rainbow

My OCA Learning Log

Art by Ken

The works and artistic visions of Ken Knieling.

Textiles Contemporary Practice

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sarah Hill's Art

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

mags phelan

Learning Log For OCA Drawing 1

dnoleicester

Make your voice heard through our vibrant news agency!

Starrybird - OCA Drawing 1

OCA Drawing 1 Blog

Michael Hewitt's OCA Learning Log

Working toward a degree in painting with the OCA

patriciafarrar

Learning Log for OCA Painting Degree Course

Paintings by Aline

A Painter's Progress